You are in: Teaching & Learning » Achievement of Vulnerable Groups » SEN & Disability » Delivering Special Provision Locally » Area Groups


Area Groups

Area 1
Hitchin, Letchworth, Baldock, Royston

Area 2

Area 3
Bishop’s Stort'd & Sawbridgeworth, Buntingford, Watton-at-Stone, Hertford & Ware

Area 4
Hoddesdon, Broxbourne, Cheshunt,
West Cheshunt

Area Groups

Area 5
Welwyn Garden City, Hatfield
(exc. south
Hatfield villages)

Area 6
Potters Bar
(inc. south Hatfield villages), Borehamwood

Area 7
St Albans
East & West

Area 8
Berkhamsted, Tring & Hemel Hempstead;
Kings Langley

Area 9
Three Rivers,
Bushey & Radlett



About Area Groups

DSPL Area Groups are made up of parents, carers, representatives from early years’ providers, primary, secondary and special school headteachers and local authority officers. Together they consider the existing provision and services and whether they meet the needs of the children and young people in the area and draw up strategic plans to make changes where necessary to better use resources in line with the SEND Strategy 2015-18: Shaping the Future of SEND in Hertfordshire.
Contact details for the DSPL Area Groups with Lead Schools are as follows:

DSPL Area Group Contacts

DSPL Area 1:
Hitchin Letchworth Baldock Royston

Tony Plunkett, Wymondley School

DSPL Manager: Emma Rusell

DSPL Area 2:

Teresa Skeggs, Peartree Spring Primary School

DSPL Manager: Kim Taylor

Local Authority Contact for DSPL Areas 1 and 2
Area Manager, ISL: Sally Glossop
01442 453531

DSPL Area 3:
Bishops Stortford Sawbridgeworth
Buntingford Watton at Stone Hertford Ware

Neil Dunn The Sele School

DSPL Manager: Kerry Scripps

DSPL Area 4:
Hoddesdon Broxbourne Cheshunt

Sue Camp Forres Primary School

DSPL Manager: Claire Hallett

DSPL Area 5:
Welwyn Hatfield

Michele Johnson, Green Lanes School

DSPL Manager: Hannah Mann-Smith

Local Authority Contact for DSPL Areas 3 4 and 5
Ann Ricketts

Area Manager, ISL
01992 588582

DSPL Area 7:
St Albans Harpenden

Margaret Chapman St Albans Girls School

DSPL Manager: Margot Nichols & Elaine Bridle &

DSPL Area 8:
Hemel Hempstead, Tring, Berkhamsted,
Kings Langley

Gary Lewis, Kings Langley Primary School

DSPL Manager: Carole Hassell

Local Authority Contact for DSPL Areas 7 and 8
David Canning

Area Manager, ISL
01442 454160

DSPL Area 6: Potters Bar (south Hatfield villages) Borehamwood

Roger Billing, The Wroxham School

DSPL ManagerL Cheryl Mence

DSPL Area 9:
Watford Three Rivers Bushey Radlett

Jill Litchfield Bournehall Primary School

DSPL Manager: Gemma Hall

Local Authority Contact for DSPL Areas 6 and 9
Area Manager, ISL Richard Woodard

Area Manager, ISL
01442 453224,

DSPL Area Group Contacts December 2018